Bach: Six Suites, Six Echoes




2pm, Part 1
Van Fedele Arc-en-ciel
J S Bach Suite No 1 in G Major, BWV 1007
Jonathan Harvey Pre-echo for Jean-Guihen
J S Bach Suite No 2 in D Minor, BWV 1008

3pm, Part 2
Gyrgy Kurtg Az hit... from The Sayings of Pter Bornemisza
Pylinsky Janos...
J S Bach Suite No 3 in C Major, BWV 1009
Gilbert Amy En-Suite Prelude to Suite No 4 by Bach
J S Bach Suite No 4 in E flat Major, BWV 1010

4.15pm, Part 3
Misato Mochizuki Pr-cho Prelude to Suite No 5 by Bach
J S Bach Suite No 5 in C Minor, BWV 1011
Ichiro Nodaira Enigme
J S Bach Suite No 6 in D Major BWV 1012

Jean-Guihen Queyras cello

Bachs music speaks across time, yet somehow exists outside of any era. Queyras pairs each of the six cello suites with an echo from our own time in a stimulating dialogue of spirit and mind.

Six suites, six echoes over one afternoon, Jean-Guihen Queyras performs Bachs six suites for solo cello and six responses by contemporary masters.

Its a project born of another encounter with Bach. When Queyras performed two of the suites during the Barbicans 2018 Bach Weekend his playing, said The Guardian, had a wonderful fluency and naturalness to it, without a hint of grandstanding or attention-seeking. We knew we had to hear him perform all six: and now, in the intimate space of Milton Court, that dream will take an even more fascinating and stimulating direction.

twitter tumbler facebook google plus pinterest


This event has no tagged artists


This is the first time you have logged in. Please select your city below: