Oslo Philharmonic/Petrenko




Strauss Don Juan
Grieg Piano Concerto in A minor
Shostakovich Symphony No 10

Oslo Philharmonic
Vasily Petrenko conductor
Leif Ove Andsnes piano

Scandinavias super-orchestra bring their silken strings and luminous woodwind to bear on Strauss and Shostakovich, before joining forces with another giant of Norwegian music, Leif Ove Andsnes.

Under its music director Vasily Petrenko, the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra is a natural guest at the Barbican Londons home from home for great international orchestras. Its blazed a worldwide reputation, and this programme of Strauss, Grieg and Shostakovich is ideally tailored to its strengths.

After all, the 21st century has few more dynamic interpreters of Shostakovich than Petrenko just as Strausss swashbuckling symphonic poem is the perfect calling-card for the Oslo Phil. But at the heart of it all is Griegs piano concerto, and if any artist can rediscover its freshness and poetry, its Leif Ove Andsnes, a pianist for whom Grieg is a force of nature.

twitter tumbler facebook google plus pinterest


This event has no tagged artists


This is the first time you have logged in. Please select your city below: