Igor Levit Plays Beethoven, Bartk And Brahms




Beethoven Grosse Fuge
Brahms Variations on a Theme of Haydn
Bartk Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion

Igor Levit piano
Markus Becker piano
Klaus Reda percussion
Andreas Boettger percussion

Featured Artist Igor Levit gleefully smashes through the bounds of the conventional piano recital, in an absorbing programme placing Beethoven, Brahms and Bartk in electrifying counterpoint.

Beethovens Grosse Fuge was once described as music that will always be modern. Levit is joined by Markus Becker in this work originally conceived for string quartet, and another thats best known in a version for orchestra: Brahmss Haydn Variations, which interrogates the past via the present.

And then theres Bartks Sonata, which still packs a head-spinning punch. Two pianists, two percussionists, and a masterpiece whose inner fire is as fierce and as life affirming as ever.

twitter tumbler facebook google plus pinterest


This event has no tagged artists


This is the first time you have logged in. Please select your city below: