Rumours of Fleetwood Mac At The Hawth Crawley, 5th May

  • brighton

  • 08 May 2018

tumblr facebook google plus pinterest


This event has no tagged artists


Rumours of Fleetwood Mac At The Hawth Crawley, 5th May

Tonight’s show at The Hawth, Crawley was just about completely sold out and was billed as ‘Rumours of Fleetwood Mac performing the legendary Rumours album note-for-note and in its entirety... plus much much more!

Full gallery from the night, can be viewed here

Rumours of Fleetwood Mac comprise of Allan Cosgrove (Mick Fleetwood -drums), Jess Harwood (Stevie Nicks -vocals), Emily Gervers (Christine McVie –keyboards and vocals), Dave Goldburg (Peter Green –keyboards, vocals, guitar), Scott Poley (guitar, vocals), James Harrison (Lindsey Buckingham –guitar, vocals) and Etienne Gerard (John McVie –bass).

Gallery Image

Encompassing nearly five decades of legendary music and channelling the spirit of Fleetwood Mac at their very best, Rumours of Fleetwood Mac offer a unique opportunity for fans, both old and new, to rediscover the songs and performances that have ensured Fleetwood Mac’s place as one of the most loved bands of all time. 

The band is personally endorsed by Fleetwood Mac’s founding member, Mick Fleetwood. Well, you cannot go too far wrong with a bit a of Fleetwood Mac and tonight this tribute band played homage to one of their best albums ‘Rumours’ in celebration of forty years since the album was released (although technically it was actually 41 years ago).

Believe it or not ‘Rumours’ was Fleetwood Mac’s eleventh album and ‘set one’ of tonight’s performance was this album, played in full and in the correct running order as per the record. The band also included the song ‘Silver Springs’ (which wasn’t actually released on the album at the time but was included on a later re-mastered release.)

The tracks of this album include the super opening track ‘Second Hand News’ as well as classics like ‘Don’t Stop’, ‘Go Your Own Way’ and ‘The Chain’. It really is such a great album and Rumours of Fleetwood Mac gave an absolutely brilliant performance of it, which also included song information and introductions from the original band members on the video back drop screen.

Set two was more of a snippet of Fleetwood Mac’s other ‘best bits’ and I have to say, that it was fantastic that they do include the Peter Green era of the band (an era where the band was all male). They played five tracks from this time with Dave on vocals for this section that included the super tracks ‘Black Magic Woman’ and ‘Need Your Love so Bad’. The rest of this set had both Jess and Emily on vocals, depending whether the original song was sung by Stevie or Christine. They included ‘Gypsy’, ‘Sara’, ‘Little Lies’ and finished their standard set with ‘Rhiannon’. Both Jess and Christine were fantastic on vocals and did real justice to the songs.

The encore consisted of Lindsay Buckingham’s (James on guitar and vocals) song ‘Big Love’ and they rounded the night off with ‘Tusk’. Having been to see the real thing a few years ago I felt that I had to go and check out this band, especially as the real band charge over £100 per ticket more than one for this band. Wow!!

What a fantastic tribute band and one that if you close your eyes you probably couldn’t actually tell that it wasn’t the real band playing the songs. Vocals were just out of this world and musicianship from all the members for the band was just exceptional… Brilliant all round…well done ‘Rumours of Fleetwood Mac’. I now have to agree that the rumours are true and you do deservedly call yourselves the world’s ultimate Fleetwood Mac tribute band.

Set 1: (Rumours Album)
1: Second Hand News
2: Dreams
3: Never Going Back Again
4: Don’t Stop

5: Go Your Own Way
6: Songbird
7: The Chain
8: You Make Loving Fun
9: I Don’t Want to know
10: Oh Daddy
11: Gold Dust Woman
12: Silver Springs

Set 2:
13: Black Magic Woman
14: Green Manalishi (with the Two Prong Crown)
15: Albatross
16: Need Your Love So Bad
17: Man of The World
18: Oh Well
19: Gypsy
20: Seven Wonders
21: I’m So Afraid
22: Sara
23: Landslide
24: Little Lies
25: World Turning
26: Everywhere
27: Rhiannon

28: Big Love
29: Tusk

Words by: Robert Sutton
Images by: Robert Sutton Photography

This is the first time you have logged in. Please select your city below: