Band Of Skulls

Event Type Event Type Event Type
twitter tumblr facebook google plus pinterest pinterest


This artist has no upcoming events

Band Of Skulls

Band of Skulls are an English alternative, scuzzy rock band from Southampton; Russell Marsden (guitar, vocals) Emma Richardson (bass, vocals), and Matt Hayward (drums). They met at college and formed the band Fleeing New York, they recorded a few demos and played a handful of gigs before changing to Band of Skulls. They have released three studio albums (Baby Darling Doll Face Honey, Sweet Sour, Himalayan) and are set to release By Default in 2016.

Debut album Baby Darling Doll Face Honey produced many hit tracks;  I Know What I Am was chosen as Itunes free weekly download in March 2009 to coincide with the Itunes digital release of the album. The track was also featured on Guitar Hero and Friday Night Lights soundtrack. Other highlights on the album include Patterns, Death By Diamonds & Pearls and Light of the Morning.

Sweet Sour propelled the group into the alt-rock spotlight with a full world tour, two sold out London headline shows and an arena tour supporting Queens of The Stone Age. They have also shared the stage with bands such as The Dead Weather, The Black Keys, Muse and Red Hot Chili Pepper. Title track Sweet Sour won 2013 Independent Music Award for ‘best rock/hard rock song’, they were establishing themselves as an effortlessly cool band.

For Himalayan the band worked with producer Nick Launary who has also worked alongside Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire and Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds. Their collaboration on this album resulted in a honed sound of infectious scratchy blues guitar riffs, harmonies, big bass beats and raw musical power. The album gave birth to classics such as Asleep at the Wheel, Brothers & Sisters, I Feel Like 10 Men Nine Dead and One Dying.

The artwork for BDDFH, Sweet Sour and Himalayan is the product of a collaboration between Danish born artist Lasse Smith, Pil Creative (both based in Canada) and the band themselves. Himalayans’ artwork in particular was made by taking soundwave of the title track from the album feeding it into a 3D printer in order to make a sculpture, it was then painted and edited to create the final image. All three albums have iconic artwork in which abstract images appear in a mirror image of themselves.

Currently promoting their new album with first track Killer causing waves and Erounds making its’ debut appearance during the past week. By Default is released May 27th with a headline tour commencing April 28th.

ARTIST MEDIA Click icons to expand

This is the first time you have logged in. Please select your city below: